

COUNCIL REQUEST FOR DECISION

MEETING DATE: December 7, 2020

SUBMITTED BY: M. Pieters, General Manager, Infrastructure & Planning

PREPARED BY: M. Pieters, General Manager, Infrastructure & Planning

REPORT TITLE: Establishment of the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

On February 24, 2020, Council approved the City of Leduc to support enactment of a regulation under the Municipal Government Act creating a Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) for the Edmonton Metropolitan Region including the City of Leduc as a Commission member. That proposed commission is now known as the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission ("the Commission"). This name is established for legal purposes and a branding exercise will be undertaken once it's established to determine the actual name.

The *Municipal Government Act* ("*MGA*") has since been amended effective September 1, 2020 to streamline the process for establishing regional services commissions. As a result of this amendment all the municipalities who are members of the Commission now need to adopt resolutions that comply with the new technical requirements for the establishment of the Commission.

RECOMMENDATION

The City of Leduc agrees to establish a regional services commission jointly with the other Members and specifies that:

- 1. the name of the regional services commission is the "Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission";
- 2. the names of the Members of the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission are:
 - (a) the City of Beaumont,
 - (b) the Town of Devon,
 - (c) the City of Edmonton,
 - (d) the City of Fort Saskatchewan,
 - (e) the City of Leduc,
 - (f) the City of Spruce Grove,
 - (g) the City of St. Albert, and
 - (h) the Town of Stony Plain;
- 3. the names of the members of first board of directors of the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission are:
 - (a) Sam Munckhof-Swain
 - (b) Ray Ralph
 - (c) Michael Walters
 - (d) Gordon Harris
 - (e) Glen Finstad

Report Number: 2020-CR-0208 Page 1 of 2



COUNCIL REQUEST FOR DECISION

- (f) Chantal McKenzie
- (g) Wes Brodhead; and
- (h) Justin Laurie;
- 4. the name of the first chair of the Edmonton Metropolitan Transit Services Commission is: Wes Brodhead.

HISTORY

On February 24, 2020, Council approved the following motion:

That the Chief Administrative Officer be directed to provide notice in writing to the Deputy Ministers of Transportation and Municipal Affairs for the Province of Alberta that the City of Leduc supports enactment of a regulation under the Municipal Government Act creating a Regional Transit Services Commission for the Edmonton Metropolitan Region including the City of Leduc as a Commission member, provided that the governance, financial and operating models for the Commission are consistent with the recommendations in the Ernst & Young (EY) report, entitled "Accelerating Transit in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region: Building a Regional Transit Services Commission."

ORGANIZATIONAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no organizational implications that differ from the original February 24,2020 report.

RISK ANALYSIS: FINANCIAL / LEGAL:

Based on a legal review of Bill 22 (*Red Tape Reduction Implementation Act, 2020*) it was determined that all parties (municipalities) are required to adjust and re-approve prior motions to join the Commission. This is an administrative measure required to comply with the provisions of the new legislation. Bill 22 also imposes an advertising component in accordance with section 606 of the *MGA* and as such, notice of the proposed resolution has been published in the Nov 27 and Dec 4 of the Leduc Rep, and posted in the Civic Centre Atrium.

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment 1 - Council Request for Decision: Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) dated February 24, 2020.

Attachment 2 – Resolution for the Establishment of the Edmonton Metropolitan Services Commission

Report Number: 2020-CR-0208 Page 2 of 2